The Hunger Games movies combine science fiction with dystopian adventure. The films, produced by Lionsgate and the creative team of Nina Jacobson and Jon Kilik, are based on Suzanne Collins’ compelling trilogy and tell the story of a planet on the verge of collapse. A new chapter in the Panem story is presented in the prequel film, which stars Rachel Zegler as the mysterious Lucy Gray Baird, Tom Blyth as the multifaceted Coriolanus Snow, and a talented ensemble that includes Josh Andrés Rivera, Hunter Schafer, Peter Dinklage, Viola Davis, and Jason Schwartzman.

The first three movies had a lasting impression at the box office, with The Hunger Games (2012) setting records for the largest opening weekend and day for an original picture. The biggest opening weekend of November was won by Catching Fire (2013), while the biggest opening day and weekend of 2014 went to Mockingjay – Part 1.

Beyond the numbers, the movies—including the last Mockingjay – Part 2 (2015)—were praised for their strong themes and Jennifer Lawrence’s outstanding performance. The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes (2023), the prequel movie, received positive reviews, despite a low opening weekend, due to its flawless production and Tom Blyth & Rachel Zegler’s outstanding performances.

Born out of Suzanne Collins’ creative imagination, the Hunger Games series has captured the attention of viewers all around the world with its gripping story and endearing characters. The rich tapestry of Panem is worth revisiting just in time for the release of the prequel, “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes,” which we are anxiously anticipating. Now, if you are confused about which movie you should start first, then do not need to worry because we are going to help you watch Hunger Games movies in order.

High On Films in collaboration with Avanté

‘Hunger Games’ Movies in Release Date Order

  • The Hunger Games – March 23, 2012.
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire – November 20, 2013.
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 – November 21, 2014.
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 – November 20, 2015.
  • The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes – November 17, 2023.

‘Hunger Games’ Movies in Chronological Order

  • The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (2023)
  • The Hunger Games (2012)
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

Future of the Franchise:

The story of “The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes” begins with the seemingly innocuous reference to a fourth Hunger Games winner, a plot point that took many by surprise. The author of the Hunger Games series, Suzanne Collins, has been silent about any plans to write more books set in the Panem setting. Many fans were not prepared for the sudden appearance of a prequel.

Collins selected the fascinating character of Coriolanus Snow to continue her investigation of these deep subjects. Collins uses her writing as a canvas to dive into the intricacies of military theory. The trailers for “Songbirds and Snakes” deftly portray the youthful Coriolanus in a way that elicits sympathy, despite the grim fate that lies ahead for him.

This purposeful depiction offers viewers a distinct viewpoint and insights into the life-changing experience of a person falling victim to the corrupting effects of the Hunger Games. Even though Suzanne Collins hasn’t revealed any specific intentions for more stories in Panem, die-hard fans are nonetheless drawn to the idea. With its complex plot and captivating cast of characters, the world of Panem never fails to enthrall viewers, and some have expressed the desire for more stories that could expand the saga even further.

Similar Posts