How would the rest of the Toy Story films line up if you wanted to watch them in the correct order? Despite the fact that the films are numbered one through four, there actually are multiple spinoffs from the mainstream Toy Story franchise that make finding the exact viewing order a bit more complicated. Below, you will find an order to watch all the mainstream films, shows, shorts, and movies all together.

How to Watch the Toy Story Franchise in Order?

Toy Story (1995)

The cornerstone of the Toy Story chronicles, the original film, introduces us to the endearing characters Woody, Buzz, and the eclectic ensemble of Andy’s toys. A nostalgic revisit to the genesis of the saga is indispensable after the Lightyear odyssey.

Toy Story 2 (1999)

Toy Story 2 continues the story and introduces important characters including Mrs. Potato Head, Bullseye, and Jessie while also revealing Woody’s origins. The story’s complexities grow, paving the way for the toy world’s changing dynamics.

Lamp Life (2020)

The disappearance of Woody’s love interest, Bo Peep, in Toy Story 3 left fans curious. Enter Lamp Life, a Disney Plus exclusive, providing a narrative bridge by revealing Bo’s fate post the events of Toy Story 2.

High On Films in collaboration with Avanté

Toy Story 3 (2010)

Returning to the main plot, Toy Story 3 takes place several years after the events of Toy Story 2 and investigates what happened to the toys thereafter. A major turning point in the franchise’s trajectory is the key transfer from Andy to Bonnie.

Toy Story Toons: Hawaiian Vacation’ (2011)

Along with Disney’s theatrical releases in 2011 and 2012, Pixar released a trilogy of short films called Toy Story Toons. The first was the Michael Keaton and Jodi Benson comedy Hawaiian Vacation, which debuted at the same time as Cars 2 and followed the titular characters as they enjoyed a staycation.

Toy Story Toons: Small Fry (2011)

Small Fry was the second Toy Story Toons, published at the same time as The Muppets. It was about a fast food toy Buzz who was making a mess in Bonnie’s room. Angus MacLane, who would go on to direct Lightyear, is most known for directing the short.

Toy Story Toons: Partysaurus Rex (2012)

In the last Toy Story Toon, Partysaurus Rex, Wallace Shawn stars as the titular neurotic T-Rex, who becomes friends with Bonnie’s bath toys after being left alone in the bathroom. Before the Finding Nemo theatrical re-release, this one played.

Toy Story of Terror! (2013) and Toy Story That Time Forgot (2014)

Transitioning to television specials, Toy Story of Terror! (2013) delivers a Halloween-themed narrative, focusing on Jessie’s escape from a perilous situation. Subsequently, Toy Story That Time Forgot (2014) explores the adventures of Rex and Trixie during a playdate at a friend’s house.

Toy Story 4 (2019)

The cinematic journey reaches a potential conclusion with Toy Story 4, marking Woody’s decision to bid farewell to Bonnie and embrace a new chapter with Bo. The introduction of Duke Caboom, Bunny, and Ducky enriches the ensemble, adding depth to the narrative.

Forky Asks a Question (2020)

Post Toy Story 4, Forky emerges as a breakout star, earning a shortform spinoff series, Forky Asks a Question. Set in the aftermath of the film, it captures Forky’s humorous quest for understanding life’s complexities, captivating audiences with its endearing charm.

The Toy Story Franchise in Order of Release Date

Here is the list of Toy Story films in the order they were released.

Main series:

  1. Toy Story — November 22, 1995
  2. Toy Story 2 — November 24, 1999
  3. Toy Story 3 — June 18, 2010
  4. Toy Story 4 — June 21, 2019
  5. Toy Story  5 — TBA

Spin-off films:

  1. Buzz Lightyear of Star Command: The Adventure Begins — August 8, 2000
  2. Lightyear — June 17, 2022

Short films:

  1. Lamp Life — January 31, 2020
  2. To Fitness And Beyond — January 22, 2021

Animated series:

  1. Toy Story Treats — 1996
  2. Buzz Lightyear of Star Command — October 2, 2000 – January 13, 2001
  3. Toy Story Toons — June 24, 2011 – September 14, 2012
  4. Forky Asks a Question — November 12, 2019 – January 10, 2020
  5. Fluffy Stuff With Ducky And Bunny — January 22, 2021

Television specials:

  1. Toy Story of Terror! — October 16, 2013
  2. Toy Story That Time Forgot — December 2, 2014

Similar Posts