When it comes to zombie movies, the Resident Evil series is the most popular. It started as a video game and turned into six big movies, with a recent attempt to restart the series. It’s the highest-earning zombie movie series and the most successful one based on a video game. Paul W. S. Anderson wrote and directed the movies, and they’ve made a whopping $1.2 billion so far. This guide will help you understand the order of the movies and when they were released, giving fans a roadmap to explore the exciting, virus-filled world of Resident Evil.

Watch Resident Evil Movies in Release Date Order

1. Resident Evil (March 15, 2002)

Kicking off the saga, the original Resident Evil sets the tone for the franchise, introducing audiences to the gripping narrative and the relentless battle against the undead.

2. Resident Evil: Apocalypse (September 10, 2004)

Continuing the story, Apocalypse dives deeper into the chaos unleashed by the T-virus, intensifying the struggle for survival.

3. Resident Evil: Extinction (September 21, 2007)

In this installment, Extinction catapults viewers into a post-apocalyptic world, adding layers of complexity to the evolving plot.

High On Films in collaboration with Avanté

4. Resident Evil: Afterlife (September 10, 2010)

Exploring new dimensions, Afterlife amplifies the action with sci-fi weaponry and bloodthirsty creatures, captivating audiences with its early 2000s charm.

5. Resident Evil: Retribution (September 14, 2012)

Retribution weaves a tapestry of suspense, bringing back fan-favorite characters and escalating the stakes as the series hurtles towards its climax.

6. Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (January 27, 2017)

As the title suggests, The Final Chapter promises an epic conclusion, wrapping up the original saga with a crescendo of action, drama, and unexpected twists.

7. Resident Evil: Welcome to Raccoon City (Reboot – November 24, 2021)

The failed attempt at a reboot, Welcome to Raccoon City, introduces a fresh perspective to the Resident Evil universe, exploring the roots of the outbreak in Raccoon City.

Watch Resident Evil Movies in Chronological Order

  • Resident Evil (2002)
  • Resident Evil: Apocalypse (2004)
  • Resident Evil: Extinction (2007)
  • Resident Evil: Afterlife (2010)
  • Resident Evil: Retribution (2012)
  • Resident Evil: The Final Chapter (2017)

The New Franchise: Resident Evil – Welcome to Raccoon City (2021)

The recent reboot marks the beginning of a new chapter for the Resident Evil story, taking viewers back to the start of the outbreak in Raccoon City. Whether you’re a long-time fan or just getting into it, this installment is a must-watch. It offers a new viewpoint on the scary events that unfold in the Resident Evil world.

Similar Posts