On Monday, the Academy announced its newly elected 2024–2025 Board of Governors. The Board is tasked with guiding the Academy’s strategic vision, maintaining the organization’s financial stability, and ensuring the accomplishment of its mission. The Academy has 19 branches, each represented by three governors, except for the recently established Animation Branch, represented by two governors. Moreover, the recently established Short Films Branch is represented by one governor, and the Production and Technology Branch is represented by one governor. Governors, including the board-appointed governors-at-large, may serve up to two three-year terms (consecutive or non-consecutive), followed by a two-year hiatus, after which eligibility renews for up to two additional three-year terms for a maximum of 12 years.

Women once again dominate the Academy Board. Of the 55-member board, 53% are women, and 27% belong to an underrepresented racial or ethnic group.

Who are the newly appointed governors of the 2024-25 Academy board?

The governors who have been elected for the first time include Patricia Cardoso, directors branch; Jennifer Fox, producers branch; K.K. Barrett, production design branch; Chris Tashima, short films branch; and Andy Nelson, sound branch.

The re-elected governors of the Academy are as follows:  Rita Wilson, actors branch; Kim Taylor-Coleman, casting directors branch; Paul Cameron, cinematographers branch; Eduardo Castro, costume designers branch; Jean Tsien, documentary branch; Pam Abdy, executives branch; Terilyn A. Shropshire, film editors branch; Laura C. Kim, marketing and public relations branch; Lesley Barber, music branch; Brooke Breton, visual effects branch; and Howard A. Rodman, writers branch.

Amidst the comeback of previous governors, Lois Burwell, representing the make-up artists and hairstylists branch, has also returned to the board after a hiatus.

The aforementioned names will join returning governors Wendy Aylsworth, Dion Beebe, Howard Berger, Jason Blum, Rob Bredow, Ruth E. Carter, Megan Colligan, Paul Debevec, Peter Devlin, David I. Dinerstein, Ava DuVernay, Linda Flowers, Charles Fox, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Richard Gibbs, Donna Gigliotti, Jinko Gotoh, Chris Hegedus, Richard Hicks, Lynette Howell Taylor, Kalina Ivanov, Simon Kilmurry, Ellen Kuras, Marlee Matlin, Hannah Minghella, Daniel Orlandi, Missy Parker, Lou Diamond Phillips, Jason Reitman, Nancy Richardson, Stephen Rivkin, Eric Roth, Dana Stevens, Mark P. Stoeckinger, Marlon West, Janet Yang, and Debra Zane.

Similar Posts