When Taika Waititi was roped in to direct one of the Thor movies, everyone instantly got skeptical about what he would do with it. However, if it is upon me, I’d say what he did with Thor: Ragnarok is still unbeatable in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. And I’m sure am not the only one, because apparently, the MCU producers have allowed the man-child filmmaker to take another swing at the stories of the Norse god with Thor: Love and Thunder. And while a lot of it works and some of it doesn’t, one cannot disagree with the thought that the movie again features an excellent soundtrack.

The latest film finds Thor in the aftermath of Avengers: Endgame. He is merely tagging along with The Guardians of the Galaxy before a new threat in the form of Gorr (played by Christain Bale) emerges. Termed as the ‘God Butcher,’ Gorr has taken it upon himself to kill all the Gods of the universe and with the Necrosword in his hands, he is on the way to do that – one God at a time.

Since Gods are in danger now, Thor decides to take a detour to the new Asgard, where he is also met with her ex-lover Jane (Natalie Portman) – who is suffering from stage four cancer and is now yielding the power of Thor’s ex-hammer Mjölnir in order to stay alive. The two of them, along with King Valkyrie and Korg must stop Gorr before he is able to fulfill his wishes of killing every single God on the planet. Thus, another space adventure ensues.

Thor: Love and Thunder: All Songs Featured in the Marvel movie:

If the previous film was an ode to the rocking tunes of Led Zepplin, Thor: Love and Thunder is most definitely a love letter to Guns N’ Roses. Lining up with the tracklist and choice of James Gunn’s 80s nostalgia in Guardians of the Galaxy, this song list is full of metal anthems including GnRs Sweet Child O’ Mine, which also features in the movie’s teaser.

High On Films in collaboration with Avanté

To add to that, there is an interesting mix of Enya, Mary J Blige, and ABBA in the track list of Thor: Love and Thunder. However, one does wish that Waititi had stuck to his original plans and included the now-famous (thanks to Stranger Things) Kate Bush’s songs. Talking to NME, Waititi said that “Before Stranger Things! Yeah, there were a bunch of Kate Bush songs I wanted to have in there. We were gonna have ‘This Woman’s Work’, which was gonna be great for [a scene with] Natalie Portman’s character. There was actually gonna be a lot of ABBA in the film as well…”

However, let’s not jump the gun because the final tracklist is still pretty dope.

Complete Tracklist:

  • Only Time – Enya
  • Welcome To The Jungle – Guns N’ Roses
  • Paradise City – Guns N’ Roses
  • Old Spice Sea Chanty – Ginger Johnson
  • Fighting – Michael Raphael
  • Our Last Summer – ABBA
  • Family Affair – Mary J. Blige
  • Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns N’ Roses
  • Goodies – Ciara
  • Hey Ninny-Nonny – Taika Waititi
  • November Rain – Guns N’ Roses
  • Rainbow In The Dark – Dio


Read More: Day Shift Soundtrack: Every Song Featured in the Netflix movie

Similar Posts