The two-time Palme d’Or winner Ruben Östlund was earlier announced as the Jury President of the 2023 Cannes. Now, the revered film festival has unveiled its complete selection of the jury, which includes artists from the cinema all across the globe. 

The jury consists of Hollywood actors like Paul Dano and Brie Larson, besides non-American artists such as Julia Ducournau, Maryam Touzani, Denis Ménochet, Rungano Nyoni, Atiq Rahimi, and Damián Szifrón. They will honor one of the 21 films playing in In Competition section with the prestigious Palme d’Or award. 

Moroccan director Maryam Touzani’s 2022 film, The Blue Caftan, was Morocco’s Official Entry for the Oscars Foreign Language Film category. It also won the FIPRESCI Prize at the 2022 Cannes. British-Zambian screenwriter and director Rungano Nyoni is known for her 2017 film – I Am Not a Witch, which was nominated for the Golden Camera at Cannes. 

Julia Ducournau is another Palme d’Or winning part of the jury, whose 2021 film – Titane received this top honor. In 2016, she also won the FIPRESCI Prize at the Directors’ Fortnight for her nerve-racking debut, Raw. French actor Denis Ménochet starred in Rodrigo Sorogoyen’s The Beasts, which had its world premiere at the last year’s Cannes. He has played a role in the latest Ari Aster film, Beau is Afraid. 

While Argentinian director and screenwriter Damián Szifrón is known for his sensational 2014 black comedy – Wild Tales, Afghan author Atiq Rahimi is known for the adaptations of his novels like The Patience Stone & Our Lady of the Nile.

Speaking about leading the jury for this year’s In Competition section, Östlund said, “I am happy, proud, and humbled to be trusted with the honor of jury president for this year’s competition at the Festival de Cannes.” He further added, “Nowhere in the film world is the anticipation as strong as when the curtain rises on the films in competition at the festival.”

The awards will be revealed after the final festival screening for its closing night, Pixar Studio’s ‘Elemental’ at the festival’s closing ceremony. It will be held on May 27 and will be broadcast live by France Télévisions in France and by Brut.

The 76th edition of Cannes will run from May 16 to 27.  

Similar Posts