Everything Everywhere All at Once Soundtrack: Every Song Featured in the movie – This year’s Oscar Star “Everything Everywhere All At Once” is a story we all must witness at least once. It’s a story of how one small decision has big butterfly effects on our lives. The movie deals with the concept of parallel universes based on the choices we make in our lives. It encompasses many genres – Family drama, sci-fi, fantasy, martial arts, comedy, etc., just like the title.

Written and Directed by The Daniels (Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert), the film follows a Chinese immigrant, Evelyn Wang, who runs a laundromat along with her husband, Waymond Wang, and has a lesbian daughter, Joy Wang. The film stars Michelle Yeoh, Stephanie Hsu, Ke Huy Quan, Jenny Slate, Harry Shum Jr., James Hong, and Jamie Lee Curtis.

The film showcases how Evelyn’s life is chaotic, with her father breathing down her neck all through her life, a husband who is trying to get a divorce, and a daughter who wants recognition for her same-sex relationship. As Evelyn visits the IRS for auditing of her business, and much more of a mess in her head, she is visited by Waymond of another universe who warns her about a dark power trying to find her.  And hence begins her adventure in the multiverse as she learns how to get skills from other Evelyns and faces this villain name Jobu Tupaki.

While the story as a summary might seem like just another sci-fi film, the underlying philosophy throughout it makes it special. The film touches upon the themes of existentialism, nihilism, absurdism, neurodivergence, depression, generational trauma, and Asian-American identity. The amazing cast, which also won multiple Oscars for acting in this film, gave the perfect portrayal of such complex yet relatable characters.

Everything Everywhere All at Once Soundtrack – All the Songs Featured in the movie:

As we get pulled into this multiverse, the choice of music in the film is very noticeable. Music plays an important role in setting up the vibe of the film, from a slow existential burn to a rapid sci-fi. We get to hear compositions from Son Lux, along with Debussy, and Rossini, among others.

The Original Soundtrack is composed by Son Lux, an experimental band consisting of Ryan Lott, Ian Chang, and Rafiq Bhatia. An album with 49 songs was released, which took 2-3 years of composing and perfecting for such a complex subject.

The Album also has collaborations with Mitski, David Byrne, André 3000, John Hampson, and Randy Newman. The song “Absolutely (Story of a Girl)” by John Charles Hampson is given special attention as the film has three different versions of the song. The OST album is a gem for a music fanatic.

Complete Tracklist:

  • “Life Can Be So Delicious” by Sunita Mani and Aaron Lazar 
  • “Claire de Lune” by Claude Debussy 
  • “Rainy Day” by Susan Christie 
  • “El Corrido De La Gallinita” by Apolinar Méndez
  •  “William Tell Overture” by Gioachino Antonio Rossini 
  • “Also Sprach Zarathustra” by Polish National Symphony Orchestra, Conducted by Antoni Wit
  •  “Ave Maria” by Elle Alexander 
  • “Stutter Apertures” by Ryan Lott
  • “Absolutely (Story of a Girl)” by John Charles Hampson
  • “Captain’s Table” by Heinz Kiessling
  • “Haven’t Been Here for So Long” by Son Lux with Jane Lui
  • “Now We’re Cookin’” by Ryan Lott, Randy Newman, and Harry Shum, Jr.
  • “Gong XI Gong XI” by Cast
  • “A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Op. 61 (Wedding March)” by Bertalan Hock
  • “Come Recover” by Son Lux
  • “Your Day Will Come” by Son Lux
  • “This Is a Life” by Son Lux with Mitski and David Byrne

Similar Posts